View in 3D

Sans Titre

Anonyme

DETAILS

Anonyme, Unknown
Sans Titre
Ferrotype, 8.3 × 6.2 cm
Musée de l'Elysée

SHARE

Presented in France by the photographer and physicist Adolphe-Alexandre Martin (1824-1896) in 1852, the ferrotype is a positive proof on metal plate. A very thin white iron plate is coated with a dark varnish which, once dry, is covered with collodion (preparation obtained by dissolving nitrate and cellulose in a mixture of ether and alcohol) or, from the 20th century, silver gelatin-bromide. The plate is then sensitized to silver nitrate. After the image is taken, the plate is developed and fixed. It is then varnished to avoid abrasions.

If the ferrotype belongs to the positive category, the image produced is actually a negative. This effect results from the silver grains that form the image: lighter than the black varnish layer in front of which they are placed, they give the ferrotype the appearance of a positive.

Unlike the daguerreotype, the ferrotype is a fast, easy to use and cheap process. He was thus particularly appreciated by itinerant merchants for portraits; some consider him thus as the ancestor of the photomaton. Under the English name "tintype", ferrotype was widespread in the United States between 1856 and the end of the 19th century.

Further reading and related documents

More information on www.elysee.ch

Back to top

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

Voir en 3D

Sans Titre

Anonyme

DETAILS

Anonyme
Sans Titre, Date inconnue
Ferrotype, 8.3 × 6.2 cm
Musée de l'Elysée

PARTAGER

Présenté en France par le photographe et physicien Adolphe-Alexandre Martin (1824-1896) en 1852, le ferrotype est une épreuve positive sur plaque de métal. Une plaque de fer blanc très fine est enduite d’un vernis foncé qui, une fois sec, est recouvert de collodion (préparation obtenue par la dissolution de nitrate et de cellulose dans un mélange d’éther et d’alcool) ou, dès le XXe siècle, de gélatino-bromure d’argent. La plaque est ensuite sensibilisée au nitrate d’argent. Après la prise de vue, la plaque est développée, puis fixée. Elle est ensuite vernie afin d’éviter les abrasions.

Si le ferrotype appartient à la catégorie des positifs, l’image produite est en réalité un négatif. Cet effet résulte des grains d’argent qui forment l’image : plus clairs que la couche de vernis noir devant laquelle ils sont placés, ils donnent au ferrotype l’apparence d’un positif.

Contrairement au daguerréotype, le ferrotype est un procédé rapide, facile d’utilisation et bon marché. Il était donc particulièrement prisé des marchands ambulants pour des portraits ; certains le considèrent ainsi comme l’ancêtre du photomaton. Sous l’appellation anglaise « tintype », le ferrotype était très répandu aux Etats-Unis entre 1856 et la fin du XIXe siècle.

En savoir plus et documents

Plus d’information sur http://www.plateforme10.ch/www.elysee.ch

Haut de la page

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant