mcb-a

The Cantonal Museum of Fine Art

A new face
The mcb-a was founded in 1841 by painter and patron Marc-Louis Arlaud. Since 1906 it has been located in the Palais de Rumine, a building constructed thanks to another patron, Gabriel de Rumine. Since 1924, the mcb-a’s successive directors have regularly stated that there is not enough space, and this situation has recently become critical, as has the conservation situation. These issues, particularly those relating to current standards of conservation, display and cultural mediation, will be resolved in way that is different from the usual solution of building extensions. The mcb-a is benefitting from a special opportunity to move into a whole new building, allowing it to make a fresh start on new foundations, giving it a new lease on life after more than 150 years of existence. Thus the mcb-a will enjoy a rare privilege: the opportunity to forge a new identity and gain a new level of visibility, while integrating its collections, its history and its nationally and internationally recognised expertise.

Unique heritage
The museum currently showcases its collections of old and contemporary art through monographic and thematic exhibitions, as well as by lending works to museums in Switzerland and abroad. In 2019, the mcb-a will be able to base its activity on a philosophy of openness: openness to the world and openness to everyone. It will be a place of exchanges and meetings between art forms from all eras, between the past and future, between cultures here and elsewhere, between visitors from all generations and geographic origins, between specialists and the curious, between the worlds of work and leisure. The presentation of the collections will strengthen the museum’s national and international influence, by being open to the world, showing what cannot be seen anywhere else. Works by the great Vaudois artists and works acquired by collectors will gain increased visibility and a renewed aura.

The mcb-a’s future building is divided into two parts located on either side of a large reception hall that preserves the historical memory of the central nave, an emblem of the old railway hall that occupied the site from 1911 to 2016. Designed by Barcelona-based architectural firm Barozzi/Veiga, the exhibition spaces are distributed over the two upper floors, one for the permanent exhibition and the other for temporary exhibitions. Two particular spaces will be used for an unconventional programme directed at various members of the public. A project space on the ground floor linked to the temporary exhibitions will serve as an experimental laboratory that is in step with current trends, open to local and international artists. The programme, often event-driven, could be delegated to guest curators as a means of establishing exchange networks. An information space linked to the permanent exhibitions will make it possible to more quickly circulate reports on new acquisitions, restorations and recent research on works and artists. The service areas — containing the restaurant, library, boutique, etc. — will be located on the ground floor, while the reserves and technical facilities will be in the basement.

The building’s northern facade, which gives onto the esplanade, is embellished with bricks and interspersed with vertical strips. These elements, which will provide control over light, provide the many openings that punctuate that wall, providing many unusual perspectives and possibilities for exchange between the museum and the plaza. At night in this new district, these openings will create a distinctive play of light that resonates with the illuminated rift in the building that houses the mudac and the Musée de l’Elysée.

The building, which is distinctive while also paying tribute to the site’s industrial past, was designed with a view to meeting the needs of a museum of contemporary fine art. Control over climate, hygrometry, light and security are some of the conditions necessary for the production of retrospectives on major artists, or thematic exhibitions that include exceptional works. In its new building, the mcb-a will take advantage of these elements so that everyone can make amazing discoveries and constantly experience new artistic emotions.

The Cantonal Museum of Fine Art (mcb-a)
Year founded: 1841
Director: Bernard Fibicher
Collections: More than 10,000 works and five major collections:
Abraham-Louis-Rodolphe Ducros (1748 – 1810), Charles Gleyre (1806 – 1874), Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen (1859 – 1923), Félix Vallotton (1865 – 1925),
Louis Soutter (1871 – 1942)
Focus: From the 18th century to Post-Impressionism; spotlights on Cubism and Vaudois Abstraction

Contact

The Cantonal Museum of Fine Art (mcb-a)

6, place de la Riponne
1005 Lausanne
Switzerland

+41 21 316 34 45 info.beaux-arts@vd.ch

www.mcba.ch/en/home-page/

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

mcb-a

Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts

Un nouveau visage
Fondé en 1841 par le peintre et mécène Marc-Louis Arlaud, le mcb-a se trouve depuis 1906 au sein du Palais de Rumine, bâtiment construit grâce à un autre mécène, Gabriel de Rumine. Depuis 1924, les directeurs successifs du mcb-a ont régulièrement fait état d’un manque de place, une situation depuis devenue critique, de même que celle de la conservation des œuvres. Ces éléments, notamment en regard des standards actuels de conservation, de valorisation et de médiation culturelle, seront résolus par une autre voie que celle, traditionnellement adoptée, des extensions. Le mcb-a bénéficiera d’un bâtiment entièrement neuf, lui permettant de repartir sur de nouvelles bases et avec un souffle nouveau après plus de 150 ans d’existence. Corollaire, le mcb-a jouit ainsi d’un privilège rare : celui de se forger une nouvelle identité et d’acquérir une nouvelle visibilité tout en intégrant ses collections, son histoire et ses compétences reconnues aux niveaux national et international.

Un patrimoine unique
Aujourd’hui, le musée met en valeur ses collections d’art ancien et contemporain au travers d’expositions monographiques et thématiques, ainsi que par les prêts à des musées suisses et internationaux. Dès 2019, l’activité du mcb-a pourra se déployer sur la base d’une philosophie fondée sur l’ouverture : ouverture sur le monde et ouverture à tous, lieu d’échanges et de rencontres, entre formes d’art de toutes les époques, entre passé et futur, entre cultures d’ici et d’ailleurs, entre publics de toutes les générations et provenances géographiques, entre spécialistes et simples curieux, entre les mondes du travail et des loisirs. La présentation des collections renforcera le positionnement du musée sur la scène nationale et internationale en offrant de les ouvrir au monde et de découvrir ce qui ne se voit pas ailleurs. Les œuvres des grands artistes vaudois et celles acquises par des collectionneurs trouveront ainsi une visibilité renforcée et une aura renouvelée.

Le futur bâtiment du mcb-a s’articule en deux parties, de part et d’autre d’un vaste hall d’accueil qui conserve le souvenir historique de la nef centrale, emblème de l’ancienne halle des chemins de fer qui a occupé le site de 1911 à 2016. Conçu par le bureau d’architecture barcelonais Barozzi/Veiga, les espaces d’exposition sont répartis sur les deux étages supérieurs, d’un côté pour l’exposition permanente et de l’autre pour les expositions temporaires. Deux espaces particuliers permettent une programmation peu conventionnelle s’adressant à des publics divers. Un espace projet lié aux expositions temporaires, situé au rez-de chaussée, constitue un laboratoire expérimental en phase avec l’actualité, ouvert tant aux artistes locaux qu’internationaux. La programmation, souvent événementielle, pourra être déléguée à des curateurs invités afin d’établir un réseau d’échanges. Un espace dossiers lié aux expositions permanentes permettra, en un roulement plus rapide, la présentation des nouvelles acquisitions, des restaurations et des recherches récentes sur les œuvres et les artistes. Les zones de service – restaurant, bibliothèque, boutique, … – prennent place au rez-de-chaussée alors que réserves et locaux techniques sont en sous-sol. Ornée de briques, la façade nord du bâtiment, qui donne sur l’esplanade, est rythmée par des lames verticales. Ces éléments offrent un contrôle de la lumière et permettent les nombreuses ouvertures qui jalonnent ce mur, ouvrant autant de perspectives inédites et de possibilités d’échanges entre le musée et la place. De nuit, ces ouvertures créeront un jeu de lumière caractéristique pour ce nouveau quartier, entrant en résonnance avec la faille lumineuse du bâtiment accueillant le mudac et la Musée de l’Elysée.

Le bâtiment, à la fois caractéristique mais également hommage au passé industriel du site, a été conçu en conservant pour objectif les besoins d’un musée des beaux-arts contemporain. Le contrôle du climat, de l’hygrométrie, de la lumière et de la sécurité, entre autres, sont des conditions nécessaires pour réaliser des rétrospectives d’artistes majeurs de l’histoire de l’art et des expositions thématiques intégrant des œuvres exceptionnelles. Le mcb-a, dans son nouvel édifice, saura mettre à profit ces éléments afin d’offrir à toutes et à tous des découvertes exceptionnelles et des émotions artistiques sans cesse renouvelées.

Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts
Fondation: 1841
Directeur: Bernard Fibicher
Collections: Plus de 10’000 œuvres dont cinq fonds d’importance:
Abraham-Louis-Rodolphe Ducros (1748–1810), Charles Gleyre (1806–1874), Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen (1859–1923), Félix Vallotton (1865–1925),
Louis Soutter (1871–1942)
Focus: Du XVIIIe au post-impressionnisme, focales sur le cubisme et l’abstraction vaudoise

Contact

Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts

6, place de la Riponne
1005 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 316 34 45 info.beaux-arts@vd.ch

www.mcba.ch

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant