Fondation Toms Pauli

Collection of Ancient tapestries and modern textile creations

A new visibility
The state owns the collection of historical tapestries assembled by Reginald and Mary Toms, as well as the 20th-century collection consisting of works by artists of the heyday of the Lausanne Tapestry Biennals (1962–1995). A private foundation is responsible for managing this dual collection. Founded in Lausanne in 2000, the Fondation Toms Pauli has presented two temporary exhibitions at the Cantonal Museum of Fine Arts: Flemish Tapestries from the 16th to the 18th Century in 2000 and Nomadic Tapestries: 20th-Century Collection in 2016. Various solutions have been sought to enable the Fondation Toms Pauli to conserve and showcase this heritage, and the collection’s integration into the new cultural platform opens up important new opportunities. The foundation will move into the building housing the Cantonal Museum of Fine Art, where it will be able to organise events revolving around textile art and present temporary exhibitions of its collections.

An international network
The Fondation is one of the few public institutions exclusively dedicated to textile art. There is an existing international network for these types of collections that encourages partnerships and exhibition projects. Since it did not have its own walls on which to present its heritage, and therefore had little visibility locally, the Fondation has been very active abroad in recent years, lending a number of works to renowned institutions in Switzerland, Europe (France, Italy, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Lithuania) and the United States.

The collections
As prestigious objects and diplomatic gifts, tapestries were the glory of Europe’s royal courts for centuries. Reginald and Mary Toms assembled over one hundred of them in the 1960s to decorate the walls of their home in the castle of Coinsins (in the La Côte region). This remarkable collection, donated to the Etat de Vaud in 1993, illustrates the wide variety of subjects depicted and the incredible quality of the tapestries, made by the finest manufacturers in Flanders, France, Italy and England from the 16th to the 18th century.

The Fondation’s 20th-century collection — inherited from the Association Pierre Pauli and the Centre International de la Tapisserie Ancienne et Moderne (CITAM)—contains over 200 works by Swiss and foreign artists like Jean Lurçat, Sonia Delaunay, Magdalena Abakanowicz, Jagoda Bui´c, Olga de Amaral, Ritzi & Peter Jacobi, Elsi Giauque, Sheila Hicks, and Naomi Kobayashi. This collection illustrates the remarkable evolution of classical tapestry towards a new, free, inventive form of expression, in the second half of the 20th century. 

Fondation Toms Pauli
Year founded: 2000
President: Eric Rochat
Director: Giselle Eberhard Cotton
Collections: Toms collection, historical tapestries from 16th to the 19th century, and a collection of 20th century textile art
Focus: Conservation, research, publications, exhibitions revolving around its collection.

Contact

Fondation Toms Pauli

Rue Caroline 2
1003 Lausanne
Switzerland

+41 21 329 06 86 info@toms-pauli.ch

www.toms-pauli.ch/en/home/

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

This website uses cookies to provide you with the best possible service. By continuing to visit this website you agree to our use of cookies.
To learn more about our privacy policy click here.

Kirby CMS Debugger
Whoops \ Exception \ ErrorException (E_WARNING)
Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28) Whoops\Exception\ErrorException thrown with message "Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28)" Stacktrace: #1 Whoops\Exception\ErrorException in Unknown:0 #0 Whoops\Run:handleError in [internal]:0
Stack frames (2)
1
Whoops
\
Exception
\
ErrorException
Unknown
0
0
Whoops
\
Run
handleError
[internal]
0
Unknown
[internal]

Environment & details:

Key Value
Kirby Toolkit v2.4.1
Kirby CMS v2.4.1
empty
empty
empty
empty
Key Value
kirby_session_fingerprint 45038273a1e83da2652cc2eddf772deae01971f0
kirby_session_activity 1603499647
kirby_language en
Key Value
REDIRECT_HTTPS on
REDIRECT_SSL_TLS_SNI www.plateforme10.ch
REDIRECT_STATUS 200
HTTPS on
SSL_TLS_SNI www.plateforme10.ch
HTTP_USER_AGENT CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
HTTP_ACCEPT text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE en-US,en;q=0.5
HTTP_IF_MODIFIED_SINCE Tue, 07 Jul 2020 06:20:18 GMT
HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING br,gzip
HTTP_HOST www.plateforme10.ch
HTTP_CONNECTION Keep-Alive
PATH /usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
SERVER_SIGNATURE
Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu) Server at www.plateforme10.ch Port 443
SERVER_SOFTWARE Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu)
SERVER_NAME www.plateforme10.ch
SERVER_ADDR 46.101.218.134
SERVER_PORT 443
REMOTE_ADDR 34.232.51.240
DOCUMENT_ROOT /var/www/plateforme10.ch/public_html
REQUEST_SCHEME https
CONTEXT_PREFIX
CONTEXT_DOCUMENT_ROOT /var/www/plateforme10.ch/public_html
SERVER_ADMIN michael.fiaux@vd.ch
SCRIPT_FILENAME /var/www/plateforme10.ch/public_html/index.php
REMOTE_PORT 51240
REDIRECT_URL /en/partners/toms_pauli
GATEWAY_INTERFACE CGI/1.1
SERVER_PROTOCOL HTTP/1.1
REQUEST_METHOD GET
QUERY_STRING
REQUEST_URI /en/partners/toms_pauli
SCRIPT_NAME /index.php
PHP_SELF /index.php
REQUEST_TIME_FLOAT 1603499647.736
REQUEST_TIME 1603499647
empty
0. Whoops\Handler\PrettyPageHandler

Fondation Toms Pauli

Collection de tapisseries anciennes et créations de textiles contemporains

Une nouvelle visibilité
L’Etat est propriétaire de la collection de tapisseries anciennes constituée par Reginald et Mary Toms ainsi que de la collection XXe siècle, constituée d’œuvres d’artistes qui firent les beaux jours des Biennales de la Tapisserie de Lausanne de 1962 à 1995. Une fondation de droit privé est chargée de la gestion de cette double collection. Constituée à Lausanne en 2000, la Fondation Toms Pauli a proposé deux expositions temporaires dans les salles du Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts: Tapisseries flamandes du 16e au 18e siècle en 2004 et Tapisseries nomades. Collection XXe siècle en 2016. Diverses solutions ont été recherchées pour permettre à la Fondation Toms Pauli de conserver ce patrimoine et de le mettre en valeur, et l’intégration de la collection au sein de la nouvelle plateforme culturelle ouvre d’importantes et nouvelles opportunités. La fondation emménagera dans le bâtiment du Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts. Elle pourra y organiser des manifestations autour de l’art textile et des accrochages temporaires de ses collections.

Un réseau international
La Fondation est l’une des rares institutions publiques qui se consacrent uniquement à l’art textile. L’existence d’un réseau international autour de ce type de collections favorise les partenariats et la mise en place de projets d’expositions. Sans murs propres pour présenter son patrimoine et donc peu visible au plan local, la Fondation a été très active à l’étranger ces années passées et a accordé de nombreux prêts à des institutions de renom en Suisse, en Europe (France, Italie, Allemagne, Espagne, Portugal, Lituanie) et aux Etats-Unis.

Les collections
Biens de prestige et cadeaux diplomatiques, les tapisseries ont fait la gloire des cours royales d’Europe pendant des siècles. Reginald et Mary Toms en ont réuni plus d’une centaine dans les années 1960 pour orner les murs de leur résidence au château de Coinsins (région de La Côte). Cet ensemble remarquable, légué à l’Etat de Vaud en 1993, illustre la variété des sujets tissés et l’incroyable qualité des tapisseries issues des meilleures manufactures de Flandres, de France, d’Italie et d’Angleterre du XVIe au XVIIIe siècle.

Héritière de l’Association Pierre Pauli et du Centre International de la Tapisserie Ancienne et Moderne (CITAM), la collection XXe siècle de la Fondation compte plus de 200 œuvres d’artistes suisses et étrangers tels Jean Lurçat, Sonia Delaunay, Magdalena Abakanowicz, Jagoda Bui´c, Olga de Amaral, Ritzi et Peter Jacobi, Elsi Giauque, Sheila Hicks ou Naomi Kobayashi. Cette collection témoigne de l’évolution de la tapisserie classique dans la deuxième moitié du XXe siècle vers une nouvelle expression libre et inventive.

Fondation Toms Pauli
Création: 2000
Président: Eric Rochat
Directrice: Giselle Eberhard Cotton
Collections: Collection Toms, tapisseries anciennes du XVIe au XIXe siècle, et collection art textile XXe siècle
Focus: Conservation et conception de projets autour de ses collections: recherche, publications, expositions

Contact

Fondation Toms Pauli

2, rue Caroline
1003 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 329 06 86 info@toms-pauli.ch

www.toms-pauli.ch

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant