View in 3D

Moscou

Maurice Denis

DETAILS

Maurice Denis, 1909
Moscou
Huile sur bois, 28,5 × 40 cm
Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

SHARE

At the turn of the 19th century, the Russian painting school, long dominated by itinerant painters, opened again to exchanges with the modern West. Groups and magazines are created, mostly opposed to realism, and symbolist in orientation. Thus The World of Art (1898-1924), or The Blue Rose (1907-1910). In 1908, the magazine La Toison d'Or organized its first Salon in Moscow which brought together Russian and French post-impressionist paintings; Nabis artists were widely represented with works by Maurice Denis, Félix Vallotton, Édouard Vuillard and Paul Sérusier.

Denis, whose works were commented in avant-garde magazines from 1899, exhibited in Russia at least four times before the October Revolution. It is also present in private collections, through acquisitions by Mikhail and Ivan Morozov, Sergei Shchukin, and Sergei Scherbatoff. In 1909, the artist went to Moscow at the invitation of Ivan Morozov, sponsor of the eleven panels of the History of Psyche (1908-1909) for the music room of his private mansion. He collects his impressions in his Diary and in his Russian Notebook. These will be transposed into painted landscapes, including views of the Kremlin or, as here, the Transfiguration Church of the Novodievitchi Convent.

For this virtuoso pochade realized on a small panel, Denis finds his nabie vein: the line is fast, the formal synthetic analysis, the palette of a great cheerfulness in the contrast between the bright colors of the architecture and the whiteness of the snow, the scene comes to life with a sled and the silhouettes of a woman and a pope. Although some have contested the autograph character of the date of 1908 which appears after the signature, this probably refers to the Julian calendar, according to which Denis arrived in Russia with his wife Martha on 24 December 1908 (6 January 1909).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Back to top

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

View in 3D

Moscou

Maurice Denis

DETAILS

Maurice Denis, 1909
Moscou
Huile sur bois, 28,5 × 40 cm
Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne

SHARE

Au tournant du XIXe siècle, l’école de peinture russe, longtemps dominée par les peintres ambulants, s’ouvre à nouveau aux échanges avec l’Occident moderne. Des groupes et des revues sont créés, pour la plupart opposés au réalisme, et d’orientation symboliste. Ainsi Le Monde de l’art (1898-1924), ou encore La Rose bleue (1907-1910). En 1908, la revue La Toison d’Or organise à Moscou son premier Salon qui réunit des tableaux russes et français du post-impressionnisme ; les artistes nabis y sont largement représentés avec des œuvres de Maurice Denis, Félix Vallotton, Édouard Vuillard, Paul Sérusier.

Denis, dont les œuvres sont commentées dans des revues d’avant-garde dès 1899, expose en Russie au moins quatre fois avant la Révolution d’Octobre. Il est présent aussi dans les collections privées, par des acquisitions de Mikhaïl et Ivan Morozov, Sergueï Chtchoukine, ou encore Sergueï Scherbatoff. En 1909, l’artiste se rend à Moscou à l’invitation d’Ivan Morozov, commanditaire des onze panneaux de l’Histoire de Psyché (1908-1909) pour le salon de musique de son hôtel particulier. Il recueille ses impressions dans son Journal et dans son Carnet de Russie. Celles-ci seront transposées dans des paysages peints, parmi lesquels des vues du Kremlin ou, comme ici, de l’église de la Transfiguration du couvent Novodievitchi.

Pour cette pochade virtuose réalisée sur un petit panneau, Denis retrouve sa veine nabie : le trait est rapide, l’analyse formelle synthétique, la palette d’une grande gaieté dans le contraste entre les coloris vifs de l’architecture et la blancheur de la neige, la scène s’anime d’un traîneau et des silhouettes d’une femme et d’un pope. Si d’aucuns ont contesté le caractère autographe de la date de 1908 qui figure après la signature, celle-ci se réfère sans doute au calendrier julien, selon lequel Denis arrive en Russie avec son épouse Marthe le 24 décembre 1908 (6 janvier 1909).

Back to top

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant