View in 3D

Nature morte au couteau noir

Henri Matisse

DETAILS

Henri Matisse, 1896
Nature morte au couteau noir
Huile sur toile, 59 × 81 cm
Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts

SHARE

The black traces the fundamental axes - based on orthogonality - of the composition: knife placed parallel to the lower edge of the painting, bottle determining a vertical in its center. The white is attributed to the oblique: tablecloth, and knife at the edge of the table. The main colours of the spectrum are available in different shades of red, yellow, green and blue.

This early work reveals the contradictory influences of Cézanne and Renoir, but especially of Chardin, whom Matisse so admired and copied at the Louvre. Some pieces of bravery - the reflections in the glass, the pot and the tin basin - also testify to his interest in Dutch still life in the 17th century. Nature morte au couteau noir is an important milestone in the painter's journey from tonal values to pure colour in the years 1895-1900. Taking greasy touches from a pasty palette, Matisse releases the colour which gains in autonomy. "It is a painting that I consider very important in my work," the artist stated in 1951 in a letter to Ernest Manganel, then director of the Lausanne museum.

This painting is part of a series that includes, among others, Still Life in a pitcher (around 1896, Le Havre, Musée Malraux), and two Still Life in Schiedam (1896, Moscow, Musée Pouchkine ; 1896, Le Cateau-Cambrésis, Musée Matisse). The table arranged obliquely is found in two contemporary works integrating still life into a scene of everyday life, in private collection: La waituse bretonne (1896), which shows the same tablecloth with a red border, and La Desserte (1897).

Back to top

Architecture Rotate your device to see the construction evolution.
Now
Now
Now
Now
Now

View in 3D

Nature morte au couteau noir

Henri Matisse

DETAILS

Henri Matisse, 1896
Nature morte au couteau noir
Huile sur toile, 59 × 81 cm
Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts

SHARE

Le noir trace les axes fondamentaux – basés sur l’orthogonalité – de la composition : couteau disposé parallèlement au bord inférieur du tableau, bouteille déterminant une verticale en son centre. Le blanc est attribué à l’oblique : nappe, et couteau au bord de la table. Sur cette trame se déclinent les couleurs principales du spectre, en différentes tonalités de rouge, jaune, vert et bleu.

Dans cette œuvre de jeunesse se décèlent les influences si contradictoires de Cézanne et de Renoir, mais surtout de Chardin que Matisse a tant admiré et copié au Louvre. Quelques morceaux de bravoure – les reflets dans le verre, le pot et la bassine en étain – témoignent aussi de son intérêt pour la nature morte hollandaise du XVIIe siècle. Nature morte au couteau noir est un jalon important sur le chemin parcouru par le peintre des valeurs tonales à la couleur pure dans les années 1895-1900. Prélevant des touches grasses dans une palette pâteuse, Matisse libère la couleur qui gagne en autonomie. «C’est un tableau que j’estime comme très important dans mon œuvre», affirmait l’artiste en 1951 dans une lettre à Ernest Manganel, alors directeur du musée lausannois.

Ce tableau s’inscrit dans une série comprenant, entre autres, la Nature morte au pichet (vers 1896, Le Havre, musée Malraux), et deux Nature morte au Schiedam (1896, Moscou, musée Pouchkine ; 1896, Le Cateau-Cambrésis, musée Matisse). La table disposée obliquement se retrouve dans deux œuvres contemporaines intégrant la nature morte à une scène de la vie quotidienne, en collection particulière : La serveuse bretonne (1896), qui montre la même nappe au liseré rouge, et La Desserte (1897).

Back to top

Architecture Tournez votre écran pour voir la construction.
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant
Maintenant